Self guided heritage trails are a great way to learn more about our region's history.
Council heritage trails
Dayboro historic town walk takes in 18 sites of early significance in the town’s development. Dayboro was first known as Hamilton, having been so named after a farmer, Hugh Hamilton, who was appointed Receiving Officer for mail in 1875. In 1892, it became known as Terrors Creek from the creek on which it is situated. The creek and the adjoining area, which became known as Terrors Paddock, derived their names from a grey Arab stallion, Terah
, owned in the 1850s by Captain John Griffin of the Whiteside run.Dayboro trail [PDF 3.6MB]
Deception Bay trail
The heritage trail covers about 4 kms and can be completed in a 90 minute stroll. Dr Joseph Bancroft graduated as a surgeon from Manchester Royal School of Medicine in 1859 before immigrating to Brisbane in 1864 on advice the warmer climate would improve his health. He devoted a good part of his life to scientific research on medical problems and developed an interest in economic botany. During WWII, Deception Bay became an army camp for around 3,000 soldiers.Deception Bay trail [PDF 1.2MB]
Samford Village trail
Take a moment to step back in time to experience some of Samford’s early history as revealed by this easy 1.3 kilometre stroll of the 13 sites along Main Street and just up Station Street. Records show that a lease was held from 1855 for the land where Samford is today and the Government began putting up parts of lease land for sale and selection from 1865. The history of Samford can now be learnt by taking a leisurely stroll through the village.Samford Village trail [PDF 3.7MB]
Petrie - North Pine heritage trail
This self guided tour starts at Sweeney Reserve and finishes with a drive along Dayboro Road to Old Petrie Town to continue your tour and visit the pine Rivers Heritage Museum. ‘Whiteside Run” on the North Pine River was established by the Griffin family in 1843 into a sheep and cattle station and eventually part of this land was leased to Tom Petrie to create the “Murrumba Run”. Tom had the foresight in 1865 to open a hostelry for travellers which was known as “Petrie’s Accommodation House” and it was this building that facilitated the township of North Pine. Soon a hotel, quickly followed by a Post Office, was included in this building which then gave the locality township status. The North Pine River Reserve (later known as Sweeney Reserve) was set aside for government purposes.Petrie - North Pine heritage trail [PDF 7MB]
Redcliffe historical trail
Redcliffe heritage walk takes an hour from the First Settlement Wall to the Redcliffe Museum and follows the trail of the first European settlers. In September 1824 the brig Amity landed in Redcliffe carrying explorer John Oxley, his crew and convicts - establishing Queensland’s first European settlement.
Community heritage trails
Bribie Island Walkabout
This self-guided walk starts and finishes at the Bongaree Jetty and visits 16 different sites. The complete walk can be done in an hour or so, and can be done in two parts. Matthew Flinders took with him on his travels an Aboriginal man by the name of Bongaree (or Bong-ree as some called him) from the Broken Bay area near Sydney. In 1799, Flinders, Bongaree and crew, landed on the northern shores of what Flinders called Glass House Bay. He did not realise that he was stepping ashore on an island - Bribie Island. He thought it was part of the mainland.
Bribie Island Walkabout [PDF 350KB]
Bribie Island - Heritage plaques waterfront walk
A one hour walk covering over 200 years of history on the waterfront walkway at Bongaree on Bribie Island. Sixteen bronze heritage plaques tell some of the fascinating events that have shaped the rich history of this 'Cradle Site of Queensland'.
Bribie Island - Heritage plaques waterfront walk [PDF 35KB]
Caboolture River Road Heritage Drive
This scenic heritage trail commemorates a few of the past pioneers, over seven (7) sites. Caboolture River Road some 140 years ago, the rough bush track between Caboolture and Morayfield, took several arduous hours for early settlers to travel. Today, the Caboolture River Road is a comfortable half hour drive, but it will forever be linked with stories from our pioneer past.
Caboolture River Road trail [PDF 2MB]
Software requirementsSome documents linked from this page may require additional software.
More information and resources
Pending review, please note images and documents on this page are subject to copyright - all rights reserved. See copyright notice for details.