Smoke alarms

Smoke Alarm

There two main types of smoke detectors in operation;

  1. Photoelectric: Detect visible particles of combustion and contain no radioactive material.
  2. Ionisation: Detect invisible particles of combustion and contain a very small amount of radioactive material.

There are currently no legal restrictions placed on the disposal of photoelectric smoke detectors, however the disposal of commercial quantities of ionisation smoke detectors must abide by local and state regulations for radioactive waste.

Disposal / recycling options

Wheelie bins

  • General waste bin

Waste facilities

Notes and conditions

  • A maximum of 10 smoke alarms accepted in general waste bin.
  • Disposal at waste facilities is limited to domestic quantities.