LibrariesReaders & Writers

Also in this section...

Our selection of free events for readers and writers includes Meet The Author events with national (and sometimes international) authors, Read Local events with local authors and Write Around Moreton Bay seminars, an opportunity for writers to meet and learn valuable skills in seminars presented by industry professionals.

Explore the following list or browse the What's On calendar.

Upcoming events

Poetry slam 2018

Poetry Slam 2018 - Master Class and Slam Heat

Hear Moreton Bay’s poets compete for a place at the Qld final of Australian Poetry Slam. Are you a poet? Bring your best poems and sign up for a shot at the final. Join the master class to polish your skills before you compete. May contain adult content.

Meet Trent Dalton

Trent Dalton talks about his best-selling debut novel Boy Swallows Universe, a captivating coming-of-age story set in Brisbane’s violent working-class suburban fringe, inspired by the real-life events of his complicated youth.

Book Week

Join us as we celebrate Book Week with exciting author and illustrator visits, a writing workshop, fun activities and competitions.

Rebecca Bradford landing page

Book Launch: Quell - Rebecca Bradford

Quell is the third Young Adult novel in the supernatural Verge Trilogy. In the vein of Twilight, Harry Potter and The Vampire Diaries, Quell continues the story of Ashleigh, a born vampire, and her friend Emma, a light witch, as the threat of dark forces looms over a world of potions, spells and eternals.

Meet Richard de Crespigny

Meet Richard de Crespigny

On 4 November 2010, a catastrophic explosion rocked an A380 flight en route from Singapore to Sydney. In the cockpit, Captain Richard de Crespigny and his team worked tirelessly to land the plane safely, so not one of the 469 passengers or crew were injured. In Fly!, Richard de Crespigny shares the insights and techniques he built up over decades in the high-pressure world of military and civilian aviation, covering leadership, teamwork, risk-assessment, decision-making, crisis management, lifelong resilience and more.

reading hour image

Australian Reading Hour

Make a date with a book by putting aside an hour to read on Thursday 20 September. Join one of our Silent Book Clubs where you can sit and read for an hour in silent but friendly camaraderie and enjoy the benefits of reading. Or bring the kids and read together. We can even help you choose the perfect book to read. Bookings not required, just drop in.

Marissa Price

Book Launch: Scourge of Scotland - Marissa Price

Scourge of Scotland is the second instalment in Marissa Price’s Into the Abyss time travel series. Harriet Hunter’s story continues as she is transported back in time to the 11th Century and the historical world of Macbeth.

Meet Rosalie Ham

No. 1 bestselling author of The Dressmaker, Rosalie Ham, talks about her new novel The Year of the Farmer, a darkly satirical novel about a country town at war with the elements and one another....

Jack Sim landing page

Meet Jack Sim

Join Brisbane’s infamous ‘man in black’, storyteller and true crime writer, Jack Sim as he shares tales of society’s darker side. Jack has dedicated his life to preserving the details of the macabre and thrilling. A prolific writer and publisher, he is also renowned for his Ghost and Murder Tours of South East Queensland’s haunted sites.

Delia Strange cms landing

Book Launch: The Evil Inside Us Anthology edited by Delia Strange

Local author and publisher, Delia Strange launches The Evil Inside Us, an anthology of short stories featuring our worst fears and greatest flaws. Evil doesn’t just lurk in the shadows, it is everywhere among us, killers and do-gooders, the wise and the ignorant, human and animal, and even that which has no life at all.

wamb_nanowrimo

NaNoWriMo

Write 50,000 words in 30 days, from 1-30 November for National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo). Join us as we celebrate with a range of exciting Write Around Moreton Bay workshops aimed at getting your creative juices flowing.

books wine and cheese

Books, Wine & Cheese

A fun night for Book Club members and those who’d like to join a Book Club. Hear about the latest titles, suggest new titles and test your knowledge in our trivia competition.

Nick White cms

Book Launch: Nick White - Kat. The Legend of Gnawbonia

Beautifully illustrated in full colour, Kat, Nick’s debut novel, took five years to write and illustrate. Lost at sea, Kat is captured by a ruthless gang of notorious pirate dogs and forced to the depths of the ocean in search of treasure; where she discovers an ancient city, lost in time.

Literary Tea cms

Literary Afternoon Tea

Engage in a lively discussion of literary classics while enjoying a scrumptious afternoon tea. Includes literary trivia and prizes. Suitable for adults only.

read local mystery

Read Local: Mystery

Local authors Jodie Lane (Renaissance Women), CT Mitchell (Murder Secret) and KM Steele (Return to Tamarlin) share their latest mystery novels.

Book Clubs

Book Clubs

There are almost 200 library-supported Book Clubs across the region, offering reading advice and Book Club Sets of 10 books each to borrow. Find resources to coordinate a book club or join a book club that meets in the library to discuss your reading passions. Come along to make new friends and discover great new authors.

Write Around Moreton

Write Around Moreton Bay

Always wanted to write a book, but don't know where to start? Or perhaps you've been writing for some time, but need help to make the leap into print? Our free Write Around Moreton Bay seminars are perfect for writers and those with an interest in writing. Meet other writers and learn valuable skills in these fun and informative seminars presented by industry professionals.

writers group

Writers' Groups

Writers’ Groups are an opportunity to meet with other aspiring and experienced writers to discuss ideas, share your writing and learn from one another. Anyone who is interested in writing is invited to attend.

back to top