LibrariesDiscover and Learn

Also in this section...

Discover and Learn through FREE special interest workshops and talks at libraries for adults.

To book for events, use the online registration links below, contact any library or email . Registration is required for all sessions.

Program

Conveyancing Made Easy

Explore the legal rights and obligations for buying or selling property, and your options if selling a mortgaged property at a loss.
Library Date Time Bookings
Albany Creek Tuesday, 16 May 1.00pm - 2.00pm Register now
Burpengary Friday, 19 May 10.00am - 11.00am Register now

'library' logo

Discover Indigenous Stories and Legends

Gubbi Gubbi man Lyndon Davis discusses the significance of indigenous stories and legends, the part they play in indigenous life and communities, and how they are used to teach young indigenous kids important life lessons.
Library Date Time Bookings
Bribie Island Tuesday, 02 May 2.00pm Register now

DIY Chemical-free Cleaning

Learn practical and inexpensive cleaning tips and easy recipes for laundry and cleaning products (even toothpaste) you can make at home.
Library Date Time Bookings
Albany Creek Thursday, 27 April 1.00pm - 2.00pm Register now
Strathpine Saturday, 27 May 10.30am - 11.30am Register now

Explore Indigenous Music and Dance

Gubbi Gubbi man Lyndon Davis demonstrates indigenous musical instruments and discusses the role of music and dance in indigenous cultural life.
Library Date Time Bookings
Redcliffe Tuesday, 09 May 10.00am Register now

Fermenting for Beginners

Learn about the importance of gut health and how to make kombucha, milk kefir, sauerkraut and other fermented delights at home.
Library Date Time Bookings
Albany Creek Monday, 20 March 10.00am - 11.00am Register now
Caboolture Thursday, 18 May 10.00am - 11.00am Register now
Redcliffe Thursday, 09 March 1.00pm - 2.00pm Register now
Strathpine Saturday, 22 April 10.30am - 11.30am Register now

Find Balance with Energy Medicine

Discover the world of chakras and auras and learn self-care strategies that may contribute to a more balanced life and improved well-being.
Library Date Time Bookings
Albany Creek Saturday, 04 March 10.00am - 11.00am Register now
Bribie Island Tuesday, 21 March 10.00am - 11.00am Register now
Woodford Thursday, 27 April 2.00pm - 3.00pm Register now

Food as Medicine

Nutritionist Ross Walter discusses how your diet can impact your health and the foods that may do more harm than good.
Library Date Time Bookings
Caboolture Saturday, 22 April 10.00am - 11.00am Register now
North Lakes Tuesday, 07 March 1.00pm - 2.00pm Register now

career counselling

Career Counselling

Make a plan to find the job of your dreams in a free one hour one-on-one session with qualified career counsellors from QUT Caboolture.

Library Date Time Bookings
Caboolture Wednesday, 19 April 9.30am - 1.30pm
Deception Bay Wednesday, 01 March 9.30am - 1.30pm
North Lakes Wednesday, 22 March 1.00pm - 5.00pm
Strathpine Wednesday, 10 May 9.30am - 1.30am
QUT Caboolture Campus Mondays & Thursdays by appointment

Growing Organic Vegetables

Learn expert tips on soil quality, choosing the right plants for your garden, and natural pest and weed management.

We have postponed the workshop scheduled for Friday, 31 March. The great news is that if you have booked tickets for this event, there is no need to rebook! We will be organising some new dates early next week, so watch this space. 

Library Date Time Bookings
Arana Hills Wednesday, 10 May 1.00pm - 2.30pm Register now
Burpengary Friday, 21 April 10.00am - 11.30am Register now
North Lakes Thursday, 30 March 1.00pm - 2.30pm Event Cancelled
Woodford Monday, 06 March 10.00am - 11.30am Register now

Happiness Hacks for Busy People

Venerable Drolkar, a Buddhist nun affiliated with the Langri Tangpa Centre, Brisbane, shares easy tips for a happier you.
Library Date Time Bookings
Arana Hills Wednesday, 19 April 2.00pm - 3.00pm Register now
Bribie Island Tuesday, 23 May 10.00am - 11.00am Register now
North Lakes Thursday, 11 May 1.00pm - 2.00pm Register now
Redcliffe Friday, 21 April 6.00pm - 7.00pm Register now

Bulka Yinila

Indigenous Painting workshop

Professional, GOMA exhibited indigenous artist Lloyd Hornsby shares the basics of indigenous art and guides participants through the creation of their own indigenous inspired canvas.
Library Date Time Bookings
Caboolture Friday, 24 March 1.30pm Register now

Job Seeking Skills

Learn how to write your resume, cover letter and selection criteria to get results and make a great impression at your next job interview.
Library Date Time Bookings
Deception Bay Thursday, 27 April 10.30am - 12.00noon Register now
Redcliffe Saturday, 11 March 2.00pm - 3.30pm Register now

reptiles

Reptiles of Moreton Bay Region

Discover the unique biodiversity within the Region and get up close with some of the reptiles living in your neighbourhood.
Library Date Time Bookings
Burpengary Friday, 24 March 10.00am - 11.00am Register now
Deception Bay Thursday, 25 May 10.30am - 11.30am Register now

Understanding Autism

Learn the common myths and misconceptions about Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD), strategies to support children and adults with ASD, and what support is available for families. Delivered in partnership with Youthrive.

We have postponed the workshop scheduled for Thursday, 30 March. The great news is that if you have booked tickets for this event, there is no need to rebook! We will be organising some new dates early next week, so watch this space. 

Library Date Time Bookings
Albany Creek Monday, 29 May 10.00am - 11.00am Register now
Arana Hills Thursday, 16 March 7.00pm - 8.00pm Register now
Bribie Island Thursday, 20 April 10.00am - 11.00am Register now
Burpengary Friday, 17 March 10.00am - 11.00am Register now
Caboolture Wednesday, 31 May 2.00pm - 3.00pm Register now
Deception Bay Thursday, 30 March 10.30am - 11.30am Event Cancelled
North Lakes Tuesday, 30 May 1.00pm - 2.00pm Register now
Redcliffe Monday, 27 March 2.00pm - 3.00pm Register now
Strathpine Saturday, 11 March 10.30am - 11.30am Register now
Woodford Thursday, 18 May 11.00am - 12.00noon Register now

Wildlife Habitat Gardens

Learn how to attract local wildlife to your garden with horticulturalist Claire Bickle.
Library Date Time Bookings
Arana Hills Friday, 26 May 1.00pm - 2.00pm Register now
Caboolture Friday, 03 March 11.00am - 12.00noon Register now
Redcliffe Monday, 22 May 1.00pm - 2.00pm Register now
Strathpine Tuesday, 21 March 10.30am - 11.30am Register now

Baby Yoga, Movement and Massage Workshop

Use music and movement to guide you and your baby through the five senses in this hands-on workshop. Learn touch and communication skills to soothe and settle. For ages 6 weeks to 12 months. 

Only 1 ticket is required for baby + adult.

We have postponed the workshop scheduled for Friday, 31 March. The great news is that if you have booked tickets for this event, there is no need to rebook! We will be organising some new dates early next week, so watch this space. 

Library Date Time Bookings
Albany Creek Tuesday, 02 May 10.45am - 11.45am Join the waitlist
Arana Hills Monday, 06 March 10.00am - 11.00am Register now
Bribie Island Thursday, 09 March 10.30am - 11.30am Register now
Burpengary Friday, 12 May 10.00am - 11.00am Join the waitlist
Caboolture Friday, 05 May 10.30am - 11.30am Register now
Deception Bay Wednesday, 08 March 10.00am - 11.00am Register now
North Lakes Friday, 31 March 10.00am - 11.00am Event Cancelled
Redcliffe Saturday, 27 May 9.30am - 10.30am Join the waitlist
Strathpine Thursday, 06 April 10.30am - 11.30am Register now
Woodford Friday, 17 March 11.15am - 12.15pm Register now

Contact

Your local library

More Information

Share this page:

back to top