LibrariesDiscover and Learn

Also in this section...

Discover and Learn through FREE special interest workshops and talks at libraries for adults.

To book for events, use the online registration links below or contact any library. Registration is required for all sessions.

Program

cancer prevention

Cancer Prevention Naturally

Join nutritionist and naturopath Ross Walter and discover complementary therapies that may reduce the risk of cancer, and how to improve nutrition and lifestyle after cancer treatment.
Library Date Time Bookings
Redcliffe Wednesday, 06 September 2.00pm-3.00pm Register now
Arana Hills Friday, 08 September 2.00pm-3.00pm Register now
Burpengary Monday, 09 October 2.00pm-3.00pm Register now
Woodford Tuesday, 10 October 10.00am-11.00am Register now
North Lakes Wednesday, 25 October 1.00pm-2.00pm Register now
Bribie Island Monday, 13 November 1.00pm-2.00pm Register now

career counselling

Career Counselling

Make a plan to find the job of your dreams in a free one hour one-on-one session with qualified career counsellors from QUT Caboolture.

Library Date Time Bookings
Deception Bay Wednesday, 06 September 9.30am - 1.30pm
Caboolture Wednesday, 04 October 9.30am - 1.30pm
Strathpine Wednesday, 25 October 9.30am - 1.30pm
North Lakes Wednesday, 15 November 1.00pm - 5.00pm
QUT Caboolture Campus Mondays & Thursdays by appointment

cpr

CPR Awareness

Get the confidence to perform cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) while the ambulance is on its way. Gold coin donation to the QAS appreciated. Presented by Queensland Ambulance Service Local Ambulance Committee trainers. 

Library Date Time Bookings
Strathpine Tuesday, 29 August 10.00am - 11.30am Register now
Woodford Thursday, 26 October 1.00pm - 2.30pm Register now
Burpengary Friday, 03 November 2.00pm - 3.30pm Register now
Bribie Island Tuesday, 07 November 2.00pm - 3.30pm Register now
Redcliffe Monday, 20 November 2.00pm - 3.30pm Register now

clutter

Declutter and Be Organised

Learn how to tackle clutter, tips on how to be better organised and strategies to stop clutter entering your life.
Library Date Time Bookings
Albany Creek Tuesday, 10 October 1.00pm - 2.00pm Register now
Arana Hills Friday, 20 October 2.00pm - 3.00pm Register now
Deception Bay Thursday, 09 November 10.30am - 11.30am Register now

fermenting

Fermenting Vegetables

Learn about fermenting vegetables to improve gut health, including a hands-on demonstration on making an easy and tasty sauerkraut at home.
Library Date Time Bookings
Redcliffe Friday, 06 October 2.00pm-3.00pm Register now
Albany Creek Saturday, 21 October 11.00am-12.00noon Register now
Caboolture Friday, 03 November 11.00am-12.00noon Register now
Arana Hills Friday, 17 November 2.00pm-3.00pm Register now

small garden

Gardening in Small Spaces

Learn how to grow a great garden on your balcony or patio and how to maximise even the smallest spaces with espalier vertical gardening.
Library Date Time Bookings
Bribie Island Thursday, 31 August 10.30am - 12.00noon Register now
Arana Hills Monday, 11 September 2.00pm - 3.30pm Register now
Burpengary Friday, 06 October 2.00pm - 3.30pm Register now

mygov

Get online with myGov

Find out how easy it is to register for myGov and use your online account or Express Plus mobile apps to manage your Centrelink, Medicare and Child Support business. If you are not already registered for myGov please bring photo ID so staff can help link your accounts. Presented by the Australian Government Department of Human Services.    
Library Date Time Bookings
Redcliffe Thursday, 31 August 1.00pm - 2.00pm Register now
Caboolture Friday, 01 September 10.00am - 11.00am Event Cancelled
Strathpine Wednesday, 06 September 1.00pm - 2.00pm Register now
Redcliffe Thursday, 14 September 1.00pm - 2.00pm Register now
Albany Creek Thursday, 05 October 1.00pm - 2.00pm Register now
Deception Bay Wednesday, 11 October 1.00pm - 2.00pm Register now
Bribie Island Friday, 20 October 1.00pm - 2.00pm Register now
Arana Hills Friday, 27 October 1.00pm - 2.00pm Register now
Woodford Tuesday, 31 October 11.00am - 12.00noon Register now
North Lakes Friday, 17 November 1.00pm - 2.00pm Register now
Burpengary Friday, 24 November 2.00pm - 3.00pm Register now

Happiness Hacks for Busy People

Venerable Drolkar, a Buddhist nun affiliated with the Langri Tangpa Centre, Brisbane, shares easy tips for a happier you.
Library Date Time Bookings
Woodford Thursday, 07 September 10.00am - 11.00am Register now
Strathpine Saturday, 25 November 10.30am - 11.30am Register now

Job Seeking Skills

Learn how to write your resume, cover letter and selection criteria to get results and make a great impression at your next job interview.
Library Date Time Bookings
Deception Bay Thursday, 12 October 10.30am - 11.30am Register now
Redcliffe Wednesday, 01 November 2.00pm - 3.00pm Register now
North Lakes Thursday, 23 November 1.00pm - 2.00pm Register now
Caboolture Saturday, 25 November 1.30pm - 2.30pm Register now

bees

Keeping Native Bees

Discover how easy it is to keep native stingless bees that will help pollinate your garden. Learn about setting up and splitting your hive and how to extract honey.
Library Date Time Bookings
Caboolture Monday, 04 September 11.00am - 12.30pm Register now
North Lakes Saturday, 21 October 10.30am - 12.00noon Register now
Strathpine Saturday, 28 October 10.30am - 12.00noon Register now
Albany Creek Saturday, 18 November 11.00am - 12.30pm Register now
Redcliffe Wednesday, 29 November 2.00pm - 3.30pm Register now

pupcake

Making Treats for Your Dog

Australia's Pupcake  Queen, author Tanya Arnold, will share her knowledge of dog nutrition and unique recipes for dog cakes and treats.
Library Date Time Bookings
Albany Creek Friday, 01 September 2.00pm - 3.00pm Register now
Deception Bay Monday, 04 September 1.00pm - 2.00pm Register now
Strathpine Saturday, 09 September 10.30am - 11.30am Register now
Woodford Monday, 11 September 10.00am - 11.00pm Register now

music movement

Music and Movement for Under 5s

In this interactive information talk for parents of 1-5 year olds, you'll learn the value of play in your child's early learning and development.
Library Date Time Bookings
Bribie Island Thursday, 21 September 9.30am - 10.00am Register now
Deception Bay Wednesday, 04 October 10.30am - 11.00am Register now
Strathpine Monday, 09 October 10.15am - 10.45am Register now
Woodford Wednesday, 11 October 11.30am - 12.00noon Register now
Arana Hills Friday, 13 October 11.15am - 11.45am Register now
Burpengary Monday, 30 October 10.00am - 10.30am Register now
Redcliffe Tuesday, 31 October 11.00am - 11.30am Register now
North Lakes Thursday, 02 November 11.30am - 12.00noon Join the waitlist
Albany Creek Monday, 13 November 9.30am - 10.00am Register now
Caboolture Wednesday, 15 November 10.45am - 11.15am Register now

The Learning Place artwork

Welcoming Place : Indigenous Plant Use

For the Indigenous people of Australia, the bush functioned as a supermarket. Discover how plants in South East Queensland were used when Gubbi Gubbi man Lyndon shares his cultural knowledge.
Library Date Time Bookings
Deception Bay Thursday, 26 October 10.30am - 12.30pm Join the waitlist

Contact

Your local library

More Information

Share this page:

back to top