Things to see & do

Select from a wide range of outdoor activities, wildlife experiences and inspiring natural beauty.

Activities & experiences

Adventure | Arts & Culture | Attractions | Beaches & Foreshores | BMX Tracks | Boat Hire | Bowling Clubs | Cruises | Fishing & Charters | Golf Courses | History & Heritage | Horse Riding | Jetties & Marinas | Markets | Parks & Gardens | Skate Parks | Walking & Bird Watching

Abbey Museum of Art & Archaeology [Wheelchair accessible]

1-63 The Abbey Place, Caboolture

A priceless collection of antiquities and fine art from around the world exploring history of western Europe. Stain glass tours of the Abbey Church are conducted by appointment. The museum hosts the Medieval Tournament in July each year.

Avicultural & Poultry Museum

Caboolture Historical Village, 280 Beerburrum Road, Caboolture

  • Phone: (07) 3888 0550
  • Open: 9.30am - 3.30pm daily

The Feather Clubs Association has established this museum to preserve the rich heritage and achievements that our pioneers, predecessors and modern day breeders have accomplished.

Bongaree Walkabout Trail

Bongaree Walkabout starts and finishes at the jetty and visits 16 different sites. The complete walk can be done in an hour. Matthew Flinders took with him on his travels an Aboriginal man by the name of Bongaree (or Bong-ree as some called him) from the Broken Bay area near Sydney. In 1799, Flinders, Bongaree and crew, landed on the northern shores of what Flinders called Glass House Bay. He did not realise that he was stepping ashore on an island - Bribie Island. He thought it was part of the mainland.

Bribie Island Seaside Museum [Wheelchair accessible]

Apex Park, South Esplanade, Bongaree

Take a look at our past through modern eyes; Matthew Flinders and Bongaree; The Castaways; The AFAQ Fish Collection; Fortress Bribie WWII defences and occupation; and a tribute to artist recluse Ian Fairweather. Free Entry.

Caboolture Historical Village [Wheelchair accessible]

280 Beerburrum Road, Caboolture

Caboolture Historical Village Museum is on 4 hectares of land just north of Caboolture, along Beerburrum Road (old Bruce Highway). The Village Museum has over 70 buildings, unique displays and thousands of historical items and memorabilia; making it one of the largest such Museum’s in Queensland. The museum is set up like a Village of early days including workers cottages, shops, churches, a homestead, police station, pioneer cottage as well as farm machinery and motor vehicles.

It houses the only Museum dedicated to our feathered friends, in the Southern Hemisphere, in fact one of three in the world. In recognition of the birds and animals who served in the wars that our servicemen and women participated, there is a memorial to them opened in September 2014.

Watch for our special event days with re-enactments, parades, and lots of fun for all. Tour guide are free, bookings essential.

Caboolture River Road Trail

Caboolture River Road some 140 years ago, the rough bush track between Caboolture and Morayfield, took several arduous hours for early settlers to travel.

Today, the Caboolture River Road is a comfortable half hour drive, but it will forever be linked with stories from our pioneer past. This Scenic Heritage Trail commemorates just a few of them with 7 sites marking the drive.

Caboolture River Road Heritage Drive brochure (document opens in new window) [PDF 2MB] 

Caboolture Warplane Museum [Wheelchair accessible]

Caboolture Airfield - Hanger 104, McNaught Road, Caboolture

See a fine collection of wartime aircraft, memorabilia, engine displays and various other wartime exhibits. Entry fee.

Dayboro Historical Trail

Dayboro historic town walk takes in 18 sites of early significance in the town’s development.

Dayboro was first known as Hamilton, having been so named after a farmer, Hugh Hamilton, who was appointed Receiving Officer for mail in 1875. In 1892, it became known as Terrors Creek from the creek on which it is situated. The creek and the adjoining area, which became known as Terrors Paddock, derived their names from a grey Arab stallion, Terah, owned in the 1850s by Captain John Griffin of the Whiteside run.

Deception Bay Heritage Trail

The heritage trail covers about 4 kms and can be completed in a 90 minute stroll.  Dr Joseph Bancroft graduated as a surgeon from Manchester Royal School of Medicine in 1859 before immigrating to Brisbane in 1864 on advice the warmer climate would improve his health.  He devoted a good part of his life to scientific research on medical problems and developed an interest in economic botany.  During WWII, Deception Bay became an army camp for around 3,000 soldiers.

Durundur Railway [Wheelchair accessible]

Margaret Street, Woodford

Heritage railway museum displaying unique and historic narrow gauge locomotives and ancillary equipment. Passenger operations first and third Sundays of each month. Cost for ride.

Leopard AS1 Tanks [Wheelchair accessible]

Memorial Park, Archer Street, Woodford; and 96 Toorbul Street, Bribie Island

  • Phone:  

Leopard Tanks entered service with the Australian Defence Force in 1977 and for over 30 years played a central role in meeting the nation’s defence needs. 30 of these tanks have been decommissioned and offered to RSL’s across the country with one allocated to Woodford and Bribie Island branches. At 7 metres long and weighing 42 tonne, the tank is an impressive display of scale and power symbolising their important contribution to Australia’s military history.

Old Petrie Town [Wheelchair accessible]

Dayboro Road, Whiteside

Discover and explore historical buildings, quality speciality shops, handmade gifts and crafts, heritage restaurant and function centre.

Petrie

‘Whiteside Run” on the North Pine River was established by the Griffin family  in 1843 into a sheep and cattle station and eventually part of this land was leased to Tom Petrie to create the “Murrumba Run”.  Tom had the foresight in 1865 to open a hostelry for travellers which was known as “Petrie’s Accommodation House” and it was this building that facilitated the township of North Pine.  Soon a hotel, quickly followed by a Post Office, was included in this building which then gave the locality township status.

The North Pine River Reserve (later known as Sweeney Reserve) was set aside for government purposes.  This self guided tour starts at Sweeney Reserve and continues to Old Petrie Town.

Pine Rivers Heritage Museum [Wheelchair accessible]

Old Petrie Town - Dayboro Road, Whiteside

Explore the district’s historic character through the permanent and ever changing temporary displays.  An animated theatrette provides an entertaining overview of our local area development. Other displays include the Old Schoolroom, Yebri House and Supplying the Building Trade, with stories of our explorers and early settlers adding colour and fascinating detail to our tale.

Pitstop on Mt Mee

2070 Mt Mee Road, Mt Mee

A display of various car and motorcycle memorabilia as well as other interesting ‘old things’. For that unusual gift browse the local crafts and collectables. Light refreshments and coffee available.

Redcliffe Historical Trail

Redcliffe heritage walk takes an hour from the First Settlement Wall to the Redcliffe Museum and follows the trail of the first European settlers. In September 1824 the brig Amity landed in Redcliffe carrying explorer John Oxley, his crew and convicts – establishing Queensland’s first European settlement.

Redcliffe Museum [Wheelchair accessible]

Anzac Avenue, Redcliffe

The Museum and its Collections offer an intriguing insight into a unique region, its European history since 1799, its heritage as Queensland's first European Settlement in 1824-25, its much older indigenous culture, its rich maritime history, and the pleasures and surprises of bayside life. Free entry.

Samford District Historical Museum

Station Street, Samford

A collection of objects from the district's rural, domestic, educational, railway, timber, transport and village history as well as reminiscences by families who have lived in the Samford Valley. Entry fee.

Samford Historical Trail

Records show that a lease was held from 1855 for the land where Samford is today and the Government began putting up parts of lease land for sale and selection from 1865. The history of Samford can now be learnt by taking a leisurely stroll through the village. 13 markers featuring an historic photograph, highlight significant sites in Main and Station Streets.

The Dayboro Shed Antiques & Collectables

358 Mt Samson Road, Dayboro

  • Phone: (07) 3425 2479
  • Email:
  • Open: Open Wednesday to Sunday: 10.00am - 4.00pm. Other times by appointment.

A good selection of antique and period furniture, china, glass, Australian pottery, rural related items, silver and metal wear, fabrics and a large array of collectables. Groups welcome.

Woodford Community Museum

Museum and Arts Centre, Lower Ground Floor, 109 Archer Street, Woodford

This centre is a community exhibition hub for the history of Woodford’s early settlers and explorers.


This page is provided as a service from Moreton Bay Regional Council. As information is provided by business operators and can change without notice, we advise you to contact operators directly to confirm all details. Council assumes no responsibility for any errors or omissions.

back to top