

Guide 13

Development in a declared catchment area

This guide is designed to help people determine if an application triggers referral to the Department of Natural Resources and Water (NRW) in relation to development in a Declared Catchment Area under the *Water Act 2000*.

This guide is of particular assistance to people who propose to subdivide land or to carry out assessable development that involves installation of a septic tank or on-site sewerage system, near a major water storage.

Declared Catchment Areas

Land use practices in catchments can affect the quality of water running off the land into watercourses. Of particular concern are the parts of catchments adjoining major storages used for urban drinking supply. Because these areas adjoin major storages they tend to attract developments such as rural residential subdivisions that can adversely impact the quality of the water in the storages. Declared catchment areas are concerned with regulating development in these areas to minimise the risk to water quality.

Declared catchment areas are established by regulation under the *Water Act 2000* by declaring an area to be a "catchment area" for the purpose of preserving the quality of water in the area.

Within declared catchment areas, NRW has jurisdiction to consider the impacts from subdivision and certain development, to reduce the risk of degradation of the quality of water entering the adjacent storages.

Location of Declared Catchment Areas

The following table lists the storages associated with a declared catchment area and the relevant local authorities.

Storage	Local Government Areas
Atkinson Dam	Esk, Laidley
Bill Gunn Dam	Laidley
Bjelke Petersen Dam	Kilkivan, Murgon, Nanango, Wondai
Burdekin Falls Dam	Belyando, Bowen, Dalrymple
Burnett Barrage	Burnett, Kolan
Callide Dam	Banana
Cedar Pocket Dam	Cooloola
Coolmunda Dam	Inglewood
Eungella Dam	Mirani

Storage	Local Government Areas
Fairbairn Dam	Emerald
Fred Haigh Dam	Kolan, Miriam
Glenlyon Dam	Stanthorpe
Kinchant Dam	Mirani
Kolan Barrage	Burnett
Leslie Dam	Warwick
Maroon Dam	Boonah
Moogerah Dam	Boonah
Peter Faust Dam	Whitsunday
Tinaroo Falls Dam	Atherton, Eacham
Wivenhoe Dam	Esk

A map of each declared catchment area is available at the relevant local NRW office. The maps are also available on the NRW website:

www.nrw.qld.gov.au/water/declaredareas/declaredcatchme nt.html. These maps can be used to determine if a property is within a declared catchment area.

Triggers for NRW as Referral Agency

A development application for land within a declared catchment area must be assessed by NRW if the application involves either of the following -

- reconfiguration of a lot, if any resulting lot is less than 16 hectares; or
- the establishment or expansion of a wastewater disposal system, other than a disposal system for carrying out an Environmentally Relevant Activity (ERA) under the *Environmental Protection Act 1994*. (This would include works such as a septic system or an on-site sewerage system. It would not include works to connect to an existing sewerage system).

If either of the above triggers apply to a development application, NRW is a **concurrence agency** for the application. When an application is referred to NRW, the department may set conditions that must be applied to a development permit, or may require that the application be refused, in order to preserve the quality of water in the area.

For More Information

For more information about water-related development, please call any of the local offices of NRW listed overleaf.

Contact Offices

Ayr

Little Drysdale St PO Box 591 AYR 4807

Ph: (07) 4783 0457 Fax: (07) 4783 3193

Brisbane (Head Office)

Mineral House 41 George St, GPO Box 2454 BRISBANE 4001

Ph: (07) 3224 7574 Fax: (07) 3406 2190

Emerald

99 Hospital Rd, PO Box 19 EMERALD 4720

Ph: (07) 4987 9300 Fax: (07) 4987 9333

Gympie

27 O'Connell St PO Box 383 GYMPIE 4570

Ph: (07) 5480 6237 Fax: (07) 5482 9278

Mackay

DPI/NRW Complex Tennyson St, PO Box 63 MACKAY 4740

Ph: (07) 4967 0872 Fax: (07) 4944 0896

Rockhampton

212 Quay St PO Box 736

ROCKHAMPTON 4700 Ph: (07) 4938 4595

Fax: (07) 4938 4595 Fax: (07) 4927 3079

St George

126 Alfred St PO Box 310 ST GEORGE 4487

Ph: (07) 4625 3299 Fax: (07) 4625 3892

Warwick

State Government Offices Corner of Guy & Fitzroy Sts PO Box 2

WARWICK 4370

Ph: (07) 4661 0225 Fax: (07) 4661 5215 Biloela

Biloela Research Station State Farm Rd Locked Mail Bag No 1 BILOELA 4715

Ph: (07) 4992 9150 Fax: (07) 4992 3468

Bundaberg

DPI/NRW Complex Enterprise St, PO Box 1143 BUNDABERG 4670 Ph: (07) 4131 5867 Fax: (07) 4131 5823

Gatton

Gatton Research Station Warrego Highway Locked Mail Bag 1009, MS 437 GATTON 4343

Ph: (07) 5462 3000 Fax: (07) 5462 2280

Ingham

Halifax Rd, Bernerside PO Box 1293 INGHAM 4850 Ph: (07) 4777 2822 Fax: (07) 4777 2863

Mareeba

Court House Complex 167 Walsh St, PO Box 156 MAREEBA 4880

Ph: (07) 4048 4850 Fax: (07) 4092 2366

Roma

State Government Offices 31 McDowall St, PO Box 350

ROMA 4455

Ph: (07) 4620 1015 Fax: (07) 4620 1059

Toowoomba

DPI/NRW Complex 203 Tor St, PO BOX 318 TOOWOOMBA 4350 Ph: (07) 4688 1030 Fax: (07) 4688 1188 **Brisbane**

Floor 3 Landcentre Cnr Main St & Vulture St PO Box 1653 COORPAROO 4151 Ph: (07) 3224 7373

Ph: (07) 3224 7373 Fax: (07) 3224 2933

Charleville

DPI/NRW Complex Hood St, PO Box 224 CHARLEVILLE 4470 Ph: (07) 4654 4209 Fax: (07) 4654 4225

Goondiwindi

24-26 McLean St, Locked Bag 4

GOONDIWINDI 4390 Ph: (07) 4671 6100 Fax: (07) 4671 3163

Longreach

41 Plover St PO Box 210 LONGREACH 4730 Ph: (07) 4652 7110 Fax: (07) 4658 3525

Mundubbera

Old Court House Building Bouverie St, PO Box 11 MUNDUBBERA 4626 Ph: (07) 4165 5121 Fax: (07) 4165 4800

South Johnstone

Centre for Wet Tropics South Johnstone Rd, PO Box 20 SOUTH JOHNSTONE 4859 Ph: (07) 4064 1112 Fax: (07) 4064 2249

Townsville

State Government Offices Corner of Stanley & Walker Sts PO BOX 5318 MC TOWNSVILLE 4810

Ph: (07) 4799 7314 Fax: (07) 4799 7971