Fire ants biosecurity zone

Fire ants are a dangerous imported pest that can severely damage the environment, our outdoor lifestyle, and the agriculture and tourism industries.

The State Government recently announced 19 suburbs in the Moreton Bay Region will be included in the Fire Ants Biosecurity Zone. This means controls are to come into place for the movement of specific organic materials within the identified zone to help prevent the spread of fire ants across the region. 

From 1 September 2022, you are legally obligated to check that there are no fire ants present before moving any materials from one location to another.  

The suburbs included in the zone are:

  • Arana Hills
  • Bray Park
  • Brendale
  • Camp Mountain
  • Clontarf
  • Ferny Hills
  • Griffin
  • Kallangur
  • Kippa-Ring
  • Lawnton
  • Mango Hill
  • Murrumba Downs
  • North Lakes
  • Petrie
  • Rothwell
  • Samford Valley
  • Samford Village
  • Strathpine
  • Warner

Use the Fire ant compliance advice tool to determine your compliance requirements when dealing with materials that may carry fire ants within South East Queensland.