Winners of the 2022 Mayor’s Telstra Innovation Awards announced!

Published 27 June 2022

MTIA winners

Awards at the Live Pitch Ceremony last night with approximately 150 teachers, industry mentors, families and supporters cheering them on.

Four schools have been awarded over $15,000 worth of prizes at last week’s ceremony where the finalist teams presented in a three-minute live pitch format, unveiling their ideas, designs or prototypes to wow the judging panel in the new auditorium at Grace Lutheran College in Caboolture.

Mayor Peter Flannery said that it was encouraging to see so much talent in the region as well as such strong interest in the program.

“From affordable temporary housing to life-saving smart bands, from apps to help the homeless and QR codes designed to simplify recycling, these bright sparks well and truly have their fingers on the pulse,” Mayor Flannery said.

“These awards are all about giving students the confidence to transform what might be a dream or a small scheme into something big that could really make a difference to our community.

“Knowledge, innovation and entrepreneurship are major focus areas of our Regional Economic Development Strategy and this is one of many programs aimed at helping Moreton Bay become a top ten regional innovation hub.

“Our young people are the leaders of tomorrow, and if these entries are anything to go by, the future is looking amazing.

Delivered in partnership with Telstra, the awards program is designed to help our budding innovators learn, explore and develop their entrepreneurial spirit.

Moreton Bay Region had a record number of entrants with 21 teams from eight different schools taking part with participating students given four mentoring workshops from leading industry facilitators.

The 2022 Moreton Bay ‘Mayor’s Telstra Innovation Awards’ are as follows:

  • 1st Place - Belinda Infanti & Alivia Kenwrick from team ‘QR Goes Green’ representing Albany Creek State High School. 

    QR Goes green is an idea to help residents and businesses recycle their household products using QR codes which are now easily recognised and used.  The team have developed an idea to a prototype and convinced Moreton Bay’s judges that they have what it takes to go places and help the community of Moreton Bay and more.

  • 2nd - Place - Finley Berry & Lauren Adair from team ‘Schnoompy Designs’ representing Bray Park State High School.  

    Schnoompy Designs is a one stop shop for innovative art designed by Neurodiversity students creating job opportunities for others with ASD.

  • 3rd - Place - Bella Raynbird, Michelle Mabena & Paola Arquinez from team ‘Your Country’ representing St Benedict’s College in Mango Hill.  

    Your Country is an app for Australians to share, enjoy and build community with Aboriginal and Torres Strat Islander People.

  • Emerging Entrepreneur Award was awarded to Tegan McKenzie from Dakabin State High School.
    Tegan showed herself to be a promising new talent, she was solution-focused and developed her skills throughout the entire length of the program

Applications for the annual Mayor’s Telstra Innovation Awards will open in early 2023.
For more information, visit